20. My Mum :)

An affectionate portrait of my mother 🙂 and as I’ve said before I DO realise how fortunate I am in possessing so many old family photos.

I’ve just this moment decided to write a second Post this fine Friday evening, October is but one day away and yet again today’s been hot and sunny 🙂 I’m definitely at my strongest when writing about my family also sharing old photographs (I really don’t think they’d have minded, and I’m very careful not to lol show the ones who are still alive)…………..to avoid confusion I should like to add my mother is fit and well….. I think I may have confused Reader!

Anyways not many people follow me going by my stats, that’s ok though and I know a couple of ladies will enjoy these pictures.

Tonight’s process of scanning old photographs from my album onto my laptop has cheered me up no end after my previous Post, I hope you have time to read it, a sad tale but ……well you know.

Mum, Bridlington.jpgTo the right is a photo of my mother and her friend, remembering this one was the inspiration for this Post and it is tenuously linked to the abduction Post before. You see this picture was taken in more innocent times, a Great Britain where a young girl could go off on her own fishing with a friend and I don’t mean just up the Road on their own! No my mum and her friend have travelled by train from their small village and spent the whole day fishing at the seaside then come home safely again, times have changed and I’ll leave it there.

scan0010

🙂 I love my mum and I know I take he for granted, I know she does more than she has to but as the saying goes ‘your mum is the best friend you’ll ever have’, carrying you for 9 months then going through the pain that is childbirth and all that, I wonder how bad childbirth actually is???  I wish I found living easier, my brother takes after her side of the family, he’s a Hospital Doctor has a beautiful wife and blessed with 3 sons, I’m NOT a jealous or envious man but lol a few more of their genes would have been nice…………I’m joking! I do not resent his happy life.

Mum loves dogs, I think she loves dogs more than her husband lol, all her life she’s owned dogs, trained dogs in obedience, trained dogs for agility competitions………and she’ll still run around a show ring at age 70+…………as for my father he won’t get out of the living room chair lol.

slaney-street-gloucester-1

Here’s my mum during swinging 60’s Great Britain sitting on the passenger seat of my father’s Lambretta motor scooter, she’s always had a great dress sense, still to this day actually, and she told me sitting on the back of ‘that thing’ frightened the living daylights out of her, either that or because of my father’s motorcycling skills! Still she looks fabulous in her white pearls………is a son allowed to describe his mum as :/ good looking? Or lol is that a bit creepy?

I have a guess the next photo was taken on the same day……… my father’s brother is a keen photograph also picture painter, he’s had paintings exhibited at the National Gallery (many years ago mind) and you can by his books of paintings on Amazon if you wish!

scan0009

Incidentally that’s her mother-in-law, my Grandmother who was quite a formidable woman I can tell you……stern strict and from a no nonsense war generation.

scan0011.jpg

……….and here’s one more photograph circa 1970’s of me mum and my brother whilst on summer holiday somewhere, Wales I think? Every year my brother and myself were always treated to a week’s summer holiday, happy days 🙂

And finally , yow will NEVER work this one out lol………………

Mum.jpeg

So there you are……my mum and how would I describe her? Every one loves her, she can strike up a conversation with a complete stranger and it’s as if they’ve been friends for life (I so envy that skill), she’s rarely angry (mind you takes no nonsense my brother am I have felt the sting from the back of her hand and always deserved). She’s a fantastic mother and adored Grandmother, has many friends, is completely selfless and will do anything for anybody but you’d have to get up early in the morning to get one over her!

I’m going to try and be a better son………. 😀 that’s got you wondering hasn’t it!!!!!!

I hope they were of interest, Andrew

6 thoughts on “20. My Mum :)

  1. Lovely post about your mom and I agree with you – she’s a looker. I am the mother of two sons and a daughter, all in their 30s now, and I can promise you that bringing up children is no easy task. Well done to your mom for accomplishing this in a great manner and still retaining her love for life!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for such a lovely comment, I don’t get many so they’re always a great thrill. Yes mum did do a good job and even over age 70 she loves fancy dress parties, incidentally my brother takes after her having 3 sons so lol I understand when you say it’s not easy. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

