35.5 – 100 Paces – a photographic Journey

6 am every morning I follow this route to work and being absolutely honest with you the journey now scares the living daylights out of me, seriously I’m not joking. I walk along darkened paths and across the Common well before dawn under a pitch black skyline and on my own!! Unbelievably spooky it is, no one about and I can imagine someone jumping out and robbing me. When you arrive at the Common just know a young woman was raped close to the bridges early one July 2016 morning. You can see why I’m a bag of nerves.

So I have walked from my Home following a well trodden route into Town for you, now hold on before you leave, I understand all my photographic posts feature my housing estate but never mind. I ‘snapped’ a photo every 100 paces following the 12 minute journey toward the final picture, the bus stop! Then I board a double decker bus towards Oxford. I hear you ask “so tell me why did you post this Andrew?”

Why not 🙂 , just picture this journey dead of night beneath only a handful of lamps, a weak post? The next will be better.

Follow the photos to follow my journey. Ok these look as if I don’t travel any farther than my neighbourhood but hey putting this together seemed like an interesting idea :/ perhaps I have tooo much time on my hands? I’ve work next week, I get tired so this’ll be the last. You should see what else languishes in my drafts!

dscf6756
As good a beginning as ever, maybe that’s my Home, maybe it isn’t
dscf6757
A cul-de-sac making for path on the left
dscf6758
Exiting the cul-de-sac
dscf6759
Turn right at the ‘T’ junction
dscf6760
Make for the right, shopping arcade left
dscf6761
Looking back to the arcade
dscf6762
Turn left at the end

 

dscf6763
Having turned into the lane walk straight on (Re. autumn picture)

 

dscf6764
Exiting the lane

 

dscf6765
Turn left by the white car

 

dscf6766
Make straight for the riding stables, turn right

 

dscf6767
Riding stables left, Common right

 

dscf6768
Common right

 

dscf6769
Straight on!
dscf6770
Across bridge 1
dscf6771
Across bridge 2, Substation in the distance
dscf6772
Cotswold stone to the left Substation right, round a bout in distance
dscf6773
Cross the round-a-bout heading for Town
dscf6774
Follow the path shopping centre coming into view
dscf6775
Side glance to the shopping centre
dscf6776
Turn right at the silver car
dscf6777
Turn left at the yellow sign

dscf6778

dscf6779
Make for the green timetable on the pole
dscf6781
Final image with the Hotel name cropped off, don’t want you Googling me now!

So there you are a 12 minute journey 25 photographs 100 paces apart.

Andrew

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

