41 – My Town in photographs part 1 – Church Green

🙂 I’ve been looking back through my posts and as you’re well aware by now I have NO common thread weaving through this blog so helping readers try to figure out what an earth they are supposed lol to be following, all I can probably guarantee is the next upload will be completely different to the previous if you get my drift.

Scrolling through my posts reading feedback and the number of views, I can see my photographs are quite popular which is very gratifying and especially with people resident in different Countries, and I’m exactly the same, I love looking at other bloggers very own photographs of their home surroundings, makes the blogging experience seem more personal.

So here’s another selection, incidentally all photographed and owned by me © Andrew and yes for once there is a commonality, all are taken from or close to Church Green which is the oldest area of my Town, and if you’re interested the Town which shall remain nameless is situated in the heart of rural Southern England……… one of the Shires!

These were all taken one day back in August 2016, and on reflection my little Fuji ‘point and shoot’ camera takes quite good pictures when the sun’s out, crap battery though!

 

dscf6648
St. Mary the Virgin, Church of England faith

 

dscf6563
Alms Houses built by Town’s wealthy wool merchants for the poor

 

dscf6561
Church photographed from behind

 

dscf6560
I’m standing to the edge of a recreation ground donated to the Town commemorating soldiers who gave their lives in the 1914-18 war

 

dscf6558
12:10 pm and yes the Church has bells, very loud ones, if the wind is blowing in the right direction I can hear them from my home

 

dscf6557
The Church is to my left, I’m looking down an avenue of trees with my old school in the distance

 

dscf6555
Again the Church is to my right, you are looking at the original Police Station, read the writing on the wall!

 

dscf6554
Alms Houses again in the Cemetery

 

dscf6556
This photo brings back memories, age 15 whilst bunking off school I came out of the gates and there standing behind a pillar Mr Slay (teacher)  caught me, I received a week’s detention for that stunt!

 

dscf6551
The Church is to my right and you are looking down the Lane where incidentally our Veterinary surgery is situated

 

dscf6550
The Church is behind me, looking towards the Town Centre

 

dscf6541
A photo taken from ground level perspective

 

dscf6540
The old Police Station, school gates and Church to the left

 

dscf6539

dscf6538
…….and finally ‘The Buttercross’, Church Green is now way to the left of me, and as the name suggests many years ago dairy products from surrounding farms were sold from The Buttercross. These days schoolchildren sit on the steps laughing talking and doing what teenagers do!

© Andrew

4 thoughts on “41 – My Town in photographs part 1 – Church Green

  1. I love these old English churches with their cemeteries in close proximity. My daughter says it’s gross, but I think it depicts the circle of life in an amazing way – the newborn are baptised and then grow up in the congregation and at the end of their lives they are laid to rest right next to where the next generation is going through the same motions. Awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for such a beautiful reply, and yes I believe you are exactly right, the length and breadth of the GB you’ll discover very old churches encircled with ancient headstones, a woman’s baby is baptised then generations later so is her grandchild in the very same Church, life goes on 🙂 TY

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

