49 – A follow up post for blogger HLN

I’ve written this post specifically for a WordPress blogger who enjoys my published photographs, BUT I shan’t embarrass the lady with her real name because ūüėÄ she may not wish lol to be tooo closely associated with err one or two of posts, and incidentally thank you to another lady who re blogged that ‘story’,¬†most kind and wow all those likes!!!

To HLN, you replied to me talking of your love of¬†South Africa’s¬†wide open spaces, you may remember I wrote of my Great Grandfather (you also commented ty) and¬†my ancestral link¬†to SA,¬†namely my¬†family has a connection to¬†the Anglo Boer War 1899-1902 and afterwards he served in¬†South African¬†Constabulary (S.A.C.),¬†we gather from family anecdotes he lived and worked¬†in Bethulie ORC, a town which again is linked to the second Boer War being horrendously associated with¬†Bethulie’s¬†‘concentration camp’ housing Boer women and children.

The medal below as you may also remember (because you again commented ty)¬†is¬†our ‘Rare’ treasured¬†Queen’s South Africa medal awarded to¬†Trooper Matthew¬†‘blank’ with an Orange Free State bar, which makes plain he first moved to the Colony (photograph)therefore residing in SA before the War. Complicated I know but not to you.

Your love of Africa’s¬†expansive scenery¬†and liking my Oxford pictures of¬†‘claustrophobic towering medieval buildings’ prompted¬†my¬†post, simply because I’d loved¬†to have experienced Rourke’s Drift, (ZULU is a favourite movie) visited Bethulie perhaps viewed the vast open scenic views from Spion Kop…………who knows perhaps I’m a romantic?

Interaction with a WP blogger often evokes recalls my past, has me searching albums for passed down photographs¬†I haven’t viewed in years,¬†our families are¬†very very¬†tenuously and historically linked which is fascinating, opposing¬†countries¬†during a long long forgotten War.

I hope you enjoy reading…………. lol if but for a few minutes.

scan0001
Copy of a postcard handed down to me by my Grandfather, his Father emigrated to Orange River Colony from Catholic Southern Ireland, a persecuted Protestant Irishman fighting Boers in the 1899-1902 Anglo Boer War, very odd!!

Jane, Matthew baby Robert (my Grandpa) and Emma the Housemaid.

scan0008
My paternal Great Grandfather Matthew, Bethulie either ORC? Or OFS years?

My Great Grandfather Matthew’s¬†Queen’s South Africa medal, (Queen being Victoria!) a Rare treasured heirloom.

DSCF6662
Trooper 51032¬†Matthew ‘Blank’, QSA with¬†Orange Free State and Cape Colony bars

© Andrew

 

 

10 thoughts on “49 – A follow up post for blogger HLN

  1. Oh thank you Andrew, but I’m not easily embarrassed – I just ignore your naughty boy posts (I have two boys of my own whom I imagine to be more or less your age). Strange, how history creates bonds between two or more nations. The Bethulie of today is a small farming community town in the now SA province name Free State. There are still traces of the old mission building and concentration camp. Rorke’s Drift is of course in the province where I now reside – KwaZulu-Natal (I still like to call it the Kingdom of Zululand!) about four hours’ drive from here. The tour of those battlefields is on my bucket list (see http://www.fugitivesdrift.com/).

    Liked by 2 people

    • The battlefield tours look spectacular, lol perhaps if I win the lottery!

      I’m so pleased you enjoyed, the post was fun writing you know searching out old photos and I didn’t realise OFS is now Free State I guess that’s politics for you, I agree you must cross the battlefields from your list. Some years ago my cousin (his G. Grandfather is also Matthew) visited Bethulie and said the white church pictured on the postcard still exists!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

