A quick message for Hester

(To begin with thank you to those who newly Followed my blog after reading yesterday evening’s post, your likes are really appreciated 🙂 and consequently I am now Following two new blogs but for personal reasons I’d like to say little more except to say I loved reading the ‘Friendships & Loneliness’ post last night before bed, thank you. I should warn you new Followers my WordPress has no one specific theme, in fact sometimes I feel out of my depth here compared to some of the Fabulous blogs I Follow and read with a passion, a very productive lunch hour at work I can tell you but don’t expect tooo much from me please, I’m very  honest and true to myself consequently they’re not to every ones taste 😀 Yesterday evening wasn’t a happy place for me as you may have read last night, I shouldn’t apologise should I, but writing helped and I guess I’ve given you all a great Movie recommendation, beats the run of the mill Movie Revues.)

Hester thank you for such an interesting and intriguing comment to that post, yes our connection though tenuous lol was a neat touch point! (More ways than one though, my Great Grandfather having fought Dutch Boers in the 1898-1902 Boer War!!!)

Enough of War 🙂

Three photographs for you Hester. Having completed my first year as a newly apprenticed Toolmaker here are a selection of the tools I made throughout that year and every item crafted by my very own hands, everything on the table made by me and I’m rather proud of every item even if I say it myself, and why not lol I’m not that skilled at anything else! Incidentally I still use many of them today at my present place of work.

Below I’ve included a second set of photographs taken of the Factory I was apprenticed to and a Company I’m truly grateful to, they paid me a living wage and taught me a Skilled Trade, it’s only now all these years later that I realise I was a very lucky lad indeed! Incidentally the factory is no more, an American Company bought the then owners out and closed that old Plant several years later……….all those wonderful 1940’s buildings have disappeared flattened and in its place are luxury penthouse flats! I was going to swear but you’re a lady and what’s the point?

That wonderful factory employed hundreds of workers, kept a local communities shops and businesses alive, trained young men and women a skilled trade, helped UK’s balance of payments and manufactured armaments during the second world war. Yes they made war weapons from bomb and bullet casings through to casting hand grenades in the iron foundry. I’m afraid I’m very VERY bitter about the factory being closed, I’d moved on to the University by that point, but I still cried the day I wandered along the canal tow path only to witness those lovely buildings being demolished to rubble, such happy memories, such fabulous workmates.

scan0027

A few more pictures of W Lucy & Co. Ltd. taken before closure.

That’s progress for you!

It’s funny when I write something I never have an idea how it’ll be taken, so thank you for the comment and a blog connection with someone residing in a far away Country, Africa no less, is fabulous. I used to worry with my previous blog after uploading but now I ‘publish’ and see what happens, I guess we’re all a little like that. Incidentally the company I used to be apprenticed to manufactured electrical substation switchgear and exported ring mains to South Africa. As you know I now work for a blank mainly associated with research groups also the odd day supervising lol pretty 18= females, hard life 😉 But seriously I did love my apprentice days, out of interest could you be a little more specific with at least one example of a manual you’ve written because I’m quite fascinated, or perhaps you’d rather not this being a public website.

© Andrew 🙂

3 thoughts on “A quick message for Hester

Leave a Reply

