Sheltering in a Cemetery out of the rain!

I don’t have a problem church cemeteries, in-fact I quite like them!

Don’t go yet! This isn’t Andrew becoming all morbid and depressing on you, 🙂 nope my blog is a positive happy blog where religion controversy and death are banned! Sex nature and photography yes! I’m here to hopefully be interesting, make you smile or subject you to my silly stories.

Whilst walking into Town early this afternoon the heavens suddenly opened and I became ensnared captured by a torrential rainstorm, now catch 22 if I about turned and went home I’d get soaked, if I carried on I’d get just as wet, so I thought sod it and soldiered on through the rain into Town.

One silver lining to my cloudy story was bumping into my neighbour from around the corner. She’s a lovely lady, a plain Jane but then I’m no Richard Gere, she’d gotten caught in the rain as well but even worse, as a woman who wears bras to small for her bust size, she looked as though she’d just come from a wet tee shirt competition, and by the look at her bosom she’d just won!

m 015
Saint Mary’s church cemetery Witney Town

 

Where was I? Oh yes getting caught in a British summertime rainstorm, so I carried on into Town, purchased a celery and cheese sandwich and orange juice, paid, stepped outside into the rain and the choice was either wander around Town, getting soaked to the skin looking in shop windows or head for the park and sit in the dry somewhere.

I don’t mind church cemeteries, I’m not one of those people who get freaked with the thought of entering one let alone spending time amongst all those headstones. Ancient English cemeteries are known to be havens for wildlife, quiet undisturbed secluded habitats where wildflower species are left to flourish the length and breadth of England and for some reason that escapes me right now, nearly all possess they’re own Yew Tree! (Blood of Christ?)

So getting wet and with time to spare I went into our thirteenth century church cemetery, found a dry conifer tree to sit under for shelter and ate my lunch and you’ll be surprised to read I quite enjoyed the experience, there’s not many places left in busy bustling British Towns that are as quiet and undisturbed such as these peaceful sanctuaries, I don’t want to become too deep but for the first time in a while, devoid of the internet phones tablets and Wi-Fi, I found myself in quite a contemplative frame of mind, spiritual even, which I haven’t experienced for quite, so I sat under a tree in the rain and listened to what Andrew had to say for himself.

Nothing morbid mind, I thought about problems at work, family, money! And cleared my mind, or at least tried to, putting some of my life worries in some sort of order. So much of our personal problems at the end of the day are just not worth worrying about and well without becoming tooo deep and meaningful, three quarter’s of an hours peace and quiet is something I’d wholly recommend.

However not in a dentist’s waiting room, that’s lazy and doesn’t work anyway, I mean go sit in a peaceful cemetery and just let your mind and imagination wander, a little quiet contemplation can be quite refreshing and good for the soul!

©Andrew

8 thoughts on “Sheltering in a Cemetery out of the rain!

    • 🙂 Thank you Holly, wow family graves going back to revolutionary war amazing, over my life time we and I have visited many old English cemeteries and they are wonderful, now heritage sites for wild flowers.

      Since writing the post today I did some research into why each has one yew tree some 1000 years old, and it fascinates most people why this is so. So I just did some research tonight and these are all true lol.

      Yew trees were planted in churchyards to prevent archers from procuring suitable branches for making bows and thus having good weapons to oppose the King’s men.
      Yew trees for making bows were planted in churchyards where they would nor be eaten by, and poison, grazing animals.
      Yew wood is distinctly red and white, especially when the trunk is freshly cut. The heartwood is red, the sapwood … is white. The colours were used to symbolise the blood and body of Christ.
      Yew [was] planted in graveyards by druids 1000 years ago to ward off evil spirits.
      In 1307 King Edward I ordered yew trees to be planted in churchyards to protect churches from gale damage.

      Fascinating 🙂 I new the blood of Christ one!

      Liked by 2 people

    • No! Until I’d read further I hadn’t known leaves are poisonous! Recalling your photos over the last twelve months I see you live in a dry and dusty region. You’d love our greenery the only drawback is the persistent rain in my videos, having said that I did enjoy the peace and quiet if only for half an hour. TY

      Liked by 1 person

      • I grew up in a dry and dusty area, but here on the coast where we retired to a while ago, we have lovely greenery. We get our fair share of summer rains and thunderstorms. The texture of the plants is coarser, being hardy coastal growth. Yours is a more delicate plantlife and varieties seem endless.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Thank you as always Hester. They are truly wonderful places, and it seems as though Borough Councils understand their historical and ecological importance. If the sun’s shining I know of another famous cemetery in Oxford 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

