Susie Dent’s video guide to swearing…….

A light hearted post for lovers of the English spoken word © Andrew

Recently Susie Dent (I’ll explain who she is further down) was approached by her employers ‘Channel 4 television’ to research and narrate a series of videos for YouTube, incidentally a website you’ll find me when I’m not hanging around WordPress, the TV company asked Susie to make several videos tracing the origins of what’s commonly referred to as English swear words.

Now before you leave me, I agree the words C**T S**T and F**K shouldn’t be used in everyday conversation! However remember you’ll find each word, also their countless meanings usage and definitions in the English dictionary so they are as relevant as any other in the English Language, and in the case of the highly taboo C**T this swear word can be traced back many hundreds of years.

So yes I’d agree with you if you said swearing is awful uncouth and lazy, but as someone who regularly uses the F bomb I quite enjoyed watching the linked videos narrated and produced by the gorgeous and very VERY sexy Susie Dent.

Btw doesn’t she have a fabulous voice!

So who is Susie Dent I hear you ask?

Here in the UK we have a very popular daytime quiz show called ‘Countdown’, but don’t worry about the show, enough to say the game revolves around choosing unknown consonants and vowels so as to make up a dictionary word, the longer the word you come up with the more points you win! Btw I don’t watch television! Awful invention!

Returning to my original question, Susie Dent is an English lexicographer and etymologist and resident expert in Countdown’s ‘Dictionary Corner’, incidentally until this evening I didn’t know what an etymologist did for a living, which is a pretty disgraceful admittance for anyone who likes to call themselves a blogger!!!

Etymologist def. – studies the history of words, their origins, and how their form and meaning have changed over time.

You may be aware I’m a little obsessed with women on Blog Andrew, the majority of my posts seem to derive from observing the fair sex and her femininity ……….oh and not forgetting my sex life! Perhaps it’s because I’m single that I find women so captivating and fascinating creatures, :/ yet they confuse and mystify me in equal measures? So if any reader wondered who Andrew’s ideal woman is, I know you don’t but humour me, Susie Dent is the lady who quickens my pulse and makes ‘me hard and my bits tingle’.

Now I’ll refrain from being over familiar and coarse in this JFF post except to say in my humble opinion intelligence is an appealing and very sexy quality in a woman and Susie has sex appeal in abundance! 

I digress, where was I? Oh yes Ms. Dent, if you stopped a man in the street and asked him to describe Susie Dent they’d probably say Countdown first and ‘thinking man’s crumpet’ second, and for all you bloggers who reside outside the UK the word ‘crumpet’ refers to ‘a sexually attractive lady!’

Thinking man’s crumpet def. –  a humorous term for a person who is popular with the opposite sex because of their intelligence and their physical attractiveness.

Countdown
COUNTDOWN – Susie Dent
Countdown
COUNTDOWN – Susie Dent

…….. and now the very English swear word B****Y!

………and now for Susie Dent’s ‘The Real Origins of C**T!

Andrew 🙂

6 thoughts on “Susie Dent’s video guide to swearing…….

  1. Well, this has certainly been an enlightening post with regard to the history of swear words. I’ve been known to use one (or even a string of them) every so often when I lose my temper. However, I very quickly lose interest when reading a book or watching a movie in which at least every third word in a sentence is replaced with a f**k. Am I alone in thinking that this indicates a lack of imagination on behalf of the scriptwriters?

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are not alone Hester, swearing in my opinion is laziness, I know I do but lol believe it or not I take great care how and when on this blog, and this 😀 may surprise you but I dislike both sex and swearing in movies. As you know from many months ago I’ve only ever worked in male dominated workshops hence bad language is I’m not proud to say second nature, however interestingly we all stop the moment we leave work, it’s not a conscious decision and I’ve heard it said coal miners steel workers ship yard workers are exactly the same………….. and as it should be! And yes Susie’s origin videos are fascinating 🙂

      Thank you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

